Aug 2, 1997 - 20:40 -
I have a question:
As far as I know, the McCormick product is reliably certified as kosher by the OU. Jews are permitted to eat it.
('Bacon Flavored' is a marketing claim concerning its taste. Just as 'grape flavored' on a soda indicates that there is no real grape in it, so here 'bacon flavored' means there is no real bacon in it.)
In general, an excellent source for kashrut information is:
The OU and Kof-K inspection services also have web sites and will answer
kashrut questions by e-mail.
I hope this information is useful.